[StBernard] Hurricane Katrina Memorial Commission holds first meeting

Westley Annis westley at da-parish.com
Thu Sep 21 22:46:28 EDT 2006

Hurricane Katrina Memorial Commission holds first meeting

BATON ROUGE--The Hurricane Katrina Memorial Commission, established by Act 740 of the 2006 Regular Session of the Louisiana Legislature, will hold its first meeting on Friday, September 22, 2006 in New Orleans, Louisiana.

The meeting will convene at 10:00 a.m. in the fourth floor conference room of the Louisiana Supreme Court Building at 400 Royal Street.

The committee is charged to make recommendations for an appropriate memorial to commemorate those who lost their lives in Louisiana due to Hurricane Katrina.

Appointments to the committee were made by Governor Kathleen Babineaux Blanco, Lt. Governor Mitch Landrieu , The President of the Senate, The Speaker of the House, and leaders of local governments in Southeast Louisiana.

The members of the Hurricane Katrina Memorial Commission are:

Reverend Robert L. Adams, Bogalusa
Jay H. Banks, New Orleans
Ronald J. Bechet, New Orleans
Emily B. Campbell, Belle Chasse
Rep. Karen Carter, New Orleans
Irma Cry, Slidell
Dr. Peter W. Dangerfield, Jr., New Orleans
William Lake Douglas, New Orleans
Steve Dumez, New Orleans
Alan M. Gandolfi, Metairie
Rep. Cheryl A. Gray, New Orleans
Cheryl Hayes, New Orleans
Rep. Nita Rusich Hutter, Chalmette
Nancy Marsiglia, New Orleans
Sen. Ben Nevers, Bogalusa
Charles H. Reppel, Chalmette


The Louisiana Disaster Recovery Foundation
Louisiana's Fund for Louisiana's People

More information about the StBernard mailing list