[StBernard] Nine School Board Incumbents Keep Office Without Opposition

Westley Annis westley at da-parish.com
Wed Aug 16 21:56:36 EDT 2006

Nine incumbent members of the St. Bernard Parish School Board were retained
without opposition when the qualifying period ended Friday, Aug. 11, while
two incumbents didn’t seek re-election, with one replaced by another
qualifier one seat on the ballot for the Sept. 30 election.

The only race will be in District 10 in eastern St. Bernard where incumbent
Ronald Nicosia didn’t seek re-election. His son, lawyer Perry Nicosia, 2113
Serpas Lane, St. Bernard, will face Henry Ballard Jr., a pastor, 3013
Lakewood Drive, Violet, in the Sept. 30 election.

In District 9, Henderson Lewis Jr., 2513 Daniel Drive, Violet, a former
School Board employee, became a School Board member when he was the only
qualifier. He replaces incumbent Stacy Riley Sr., who didn’t seek

Re-elected as School Board members were Herman J. Bonnette Sr., Dist. 1;
William H. Egan, Dist. 2; Lynette DiFatta, Dist. 3; Sharon Hanzo, Dist. 4;
Joseph Long Sr., Dist. 5; Dr. Hugh Craft, Dist. 6; Diana Dysart, Dist. 7;
Clifford Englande, Dist. 8; and Donald Campbell, Dist. 11.

Also, Ward H Constable Julie Fernandez of Chalmette, appointed several
months ago after the death of her husband, Billy Fernandez, won election
without opposition.
Five candidates from Arabi are on the Sept. 30 ballot to fill the remainder
of the term of Ward A Justice of the Peace Karl Scheuermann, who retired
from the post. The candidates are John Cangelosi, 324 ½ Friscoville Ave.;
Sallie O. Jones, 645 Mehle St.; Ronald LaHoste Sr., 2001 Aycock St.; Peter
E. Rusck, 738 Friscoville Ave.; and Barbara Stout St. Germain, 1210
Friscoville Ave.

Also, on the ballot are races for U.S. Representative, state secretary of
state and state insurance commissioner.

Five polling places have been established for the Sept. 30 election.
They are District A, the parish government complex at 8201 West Judge Perez
Drive; District B, the gym at Nunez Community College; District C, Chalmette
High cafeteria; District D, Corinne Missionary Baptist Church, 2425 Beachead
Lane, Violet; and District E, Willie Smith School gym, 6701 East St. Bernard
Highway, Violet.

The polls are open 6 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Clerk of Court Lena Torres said she has hired 145 poll commissioners to work
the election and said, “I want to thank the people who were interested
enough to come out’’ to take the necessary class to learn about the duties.


More information about the StBernard mailing list